Skip to content
The Final Chapters - Deep Discounts that get better day by day. Buy before it's too late. Click Here.
The Final Chapters - Deep Discounts - Buy before it's too late. Click Here
woman with multiple holiday gift bags
Previous article Riding with Dragons: A Deep Dive into Rebecca Yarros' Empyrean Series
Next article 5 Successful NaNoWriMo Novels (And Tips for Your Own)

 

 

Books for Everyone: The Only Gift Guide You Need

Books as Gifts

In the joyful season of giving, there's nothing quite like the gift of a good book. As the holidays draw near, our minds turn to finding that perfect present, one that will captivate, inspire, and transport the recipient to new worlds. Welcome to the holiday gift guide, where we'll explore the art of giving books and why they stand as timeless treasures. 

Book with red bow around it

Books are not mere objects; they are gateways to other dimensions, opportunities to explore diverse cultures, and invitations to ponder profound ideas. When you gift a book, you're not just giving a story; you're bestowing a chance to embark on an adventure, to learn, and to feel a whirlwind of emotions. Whether it's a heartwarming novel, an insightful biography, or a thrilling mystery, the right book can be an intimate and cherished gift.

In a world filled with endless distractions and screens, books provide a respite, a quiet escape where imagination soars. A well-chosen book tells the recipient you've considered their interests, their dreams, and their desire for knowledge. It's a personal gift that leaves a lasting impression, making the holidays that much more special.

Family reading holiday stockings in background

Join Discover Books as we unveil our top book recommendations for the 2023 holiday season. Whether you're seeking a gift for a loved one or a colleague, a neighbor or a friend, the following will be your guide to finding the perfect book to light up their holidays. Give the gift of stories, of knowledge, and of boundless joy, for books are not just presents; they are treasures waiting to be unwrapped.

Our list is sorted by potential recipient, though you know best which books will delight the people on your list.

Gifts for Wife

The Great Circle by Maggie Shipstead – This is a captivating historical novel that combines adventure, aviation, and romance in a compelling narrative. The story is an epic ride filled with unforgettable characters, great romance, adventure, Hollywood glitz, and more.

The Reading List by Sara Nisha Adams – This novel is a heartwarming story about a diverse group of strangers brought together by a shared love for reading and the power of books. If you need convincing about the power of great books, this book will provide all that and more.

Gifts for Husband

Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir – This book is a thrilling and science-packed adventure about an astronaut's journey to save humanity in a spaceship named the Hail Mary. Just as you’d expect, this novel is humorous, suspenseful, smart, and fascinating.

Empire of the Vampire by Jay Kristoff – Empire is a gripping dark fantasy novel set in a world plagued by vampires and follows the story of a legendary vampire hunter. There are no romantic, conflicted vampires here, just scary, evil ones that are controlling the world.

Gifts for Mother

The Push by Ashley Audrain – This book is a psychological thriller that explores the complexities of motherhood, trust, and the generational legacy of family trauma. This book is probably not the ideal choice for new mothers, but is definitely a provocative read for seasoned moms who are ready to really chew on ALL it means to be a mother.

Beautiful World, Where Are You by Sally Rooney – This is a novel about the lives and relationships of four friends, discussing love, politics, and existential questions. It’s full of what Ms. Rooney does best: intricate narratives about human relationships.

Gifts for Father

The Bomber Mafia by Malcolm Gladwell – Mr. Gladwell gives readers an intriguing exploration of the moral and strategic choices made by military leaders during World War II as they considered and developed the capability for precision bombing.

Greenlights by Matthew McConaughey – From the book: “I’ve been in this life for fifty years, been trying to work out its riddle for forty-two, and been keeping diaries of clues to that riddle for the last thirty-five. Notes about successes and failures, joys and sorrows, things that made me marvel, and things that made me laugh out loud. How to be fair. How to have less stress. How to have fun. How to hurt people less. How to get hurt less. How to be a good man. How to have meaning in life. How to be more me.” What more could a dad want in a book?

Gifts for Sister

People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry – This is a heartwarming rom-com about two unlikely friends who go on vacations together…until they don’t.

The Atlas Six by Olivie Blake – If your sister is all about fantasy, then she’ll devour this exciting fantasy novel that follows six young magicians competing for a coveted spot in a secret society.

Gifts for Brother

The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman – This is a witty and charming mystery featuring a group of elderly amateur sleuths who set out to solve cold cases. It’s the perfect whodunit for a mystery lover.

Ready Player Two by Ernest Cline - This highly anticipated sequel to Ready Player One is just as good the original and offers more virtual reality adventures and '80s pop culture references.

Gifts for Young Son

The Bear and the Moon by Matthew Burgess - A beautifully illustrated children's book about friendship, adventure, and a bright red balloon.

Charlie Hernández and the League of Shadows by Ryan Calejo – This is a middle-grade fantasy novel perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter. Charlie is an expert on all things mystical, but what happens when things he thought were only myths start to seem real?

Gifts for Young Daughter

The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse by Charlie Mackesy – There’s beautiful art and great story telling in this heartwarming illustrated tale of friendship and self-discovery.

The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill - Winner of the Newbery Medal, this captivating story perfect for middle readers combines magic, adventure, and courage in a fantastical world.

Gifts for Teen Son

Aurora Rising by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff – This is an exhilarating space adventure about a group of misfit cadets and the mysteries they uncover in the galaxy. Kaufman and Kristoff and brilliant writers and they make this story come alive.

Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé – This gripping and suspenseful thriller explores themes of power and identity at an elite high school. The plot is clever, the themes are timely and relevant, and the writing is top notch.

Gifts for Teen Daughter

The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna – This bestselling fantasy novel features a powerful young woman who faces an impossible choice: remain at home and submit to the consequences dictated for all those with “gilded” blood, or venture out into the world on her own to discover how to use her rare gifts to fight for the empire. This story is a treat from beginning to end.

One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus – The scene is familiar: five teens enter dentention. Only this time, one doesn’t make it out. This exciting mystery revolves around a group of high school students and a deadly secret. This bestseller is now a TV series on Peacock.

Gifts for a Boss

Think Again by Adam Grant – Your boss will love this thought-provoking book about reevaluating one's beliefs and opinions and encouraging personal growth and adaptability.

Never Split the Difference by Chriss Voss – Everyone in business needs to learn negotiating skills and this book is the place to learn them. It’s entertaining, informative, and life changing.

Gifts for Neighbors

The Sanatorium by Sarah Pearse – Reese picked it for her reading list, the New York Times has it on their bestseller list, and your neighbor won’t be able to put it down. This is a brilliant, suspenseful thriller set in the irresistible Swiss Alps.

Anxious People by Fredrik Backman – When a bank robbery turns into a hostage situation, the result is a heartwarming and humorous tale about the quirks of human nature.

Gifts for Best Friend

The Paris Apartment by Lucy Foley – This is the book everyone has talked about this year and for good reason. It’s a thrilling mystery set in Paris, where secrets unfold as a group of friends tries to uncover the truth about an apartment.

The Guncle by Steven Rowley – The accolades for this book abound: winner of the Thurber Prize for American Humor, Wall Street Journal Bestseller, USA Today Bestseller, NPR Book of the Year, and Finalist for the 2021 Goodreads Choice Awards. Your friend will love this laugh-out-loud story about a former sitcom star who becomes an unlikely guardian to his niece and nephew.

Books for Everyone on Your List!

In the spirit of the holiday season, the gift of a book is a thoughtful and meaningful gesture that transcends time. And the best part is, with the fantastic deals and low prices at DiscoverBooks, you can make sure everyone on your list receives the perfect gift without breaking the bank.

So, as you prepare for festivities and start brainstorming your holiday shopping list, consider the magic of books. They're the perfect way to share your love and appreciation for those who matter most in your life. Plus, with an endless range of titles to choose from, you're sure to find something that resonates with each person on your gift-giving list.

Happy gifting, and may your holiday season be filled with the joy of reading.

Previous article Riding with Dragons: A Deep Dive into Rebecca Yarros' Empyrean Series
Next article 5 Successful NaNoWriMo Novels (And Tips for Your Own)

Leave a comment

Comments must be approved before appearing

* Required fields