Skip to content
Happy 20th Birthday, Discover Books! Save 20% when you buy 4+books from the 20th Birthday Special Collection until 9.30.23.
Happy 20th Birthday, Discover Books! Save 20% when you buy 4+books from the 20th Birthday Special Collection. until 9.30.23.

Enola Holmes by Nancy Springer in Order

On what should have been a joyous occasion, Enola's life was turned upside down on her fourteenth birthday when her beloved mother disappeared. When Sherlock and Mycroft Holmes - who are Enola's much older brothers - deduced that their mother had chosen to leave of her own will, the young girl felt completely crushed. After unraveling intricate codes written by her mom in advance, she realized it was an intentional move so that she could live with the Romani tribe away from society’s constraints. Money left for just this purpose facilitated the escape.

Defying impositions made by elder brother Mycroft to send Enola away to boarding school in order to achieve proper ladylike behavior, our hero flees and begins a journey through London instead: solving missing person cases (including saving Dr. Watson) while evading capture from both family members and villains alike! 

Enola Holmes is brave and clever and always gets to the bottom of things. Join her as she weaves her way through life using her wits and logic. Spanish versions are also available for most books in the series.

What is the recommended reading level of Enola Holmes? The publisher says 8 to 12-year-olds, but we think it might be a little higher due to some of the content discussed, like a murdered prostitute. Age isn't as important as maturity level. Even adults will enjoy this series. 

Reading Order of Enola Holmes with Publication Date:

  1. The Case of the Missing Marquess 2006
  2. The Case of the Left-Handed Lady 2007
  3. The Case of the Bizarre Bouquets 2008
  4. The Case of the Peculiar Pink Fan 2008
  5. The Case of the Cryptic Crinoline 2009
  6. The Case of the Gypsy Goodbye 2010
  7. Enola Holmes and The Black Barouche 2021
  8. Enola Holmes and the Elegant Escapade 2022
  9. The Case of the Disappearing Duchess 2022
  10. Graphic Novel Edition Volume 1 2022
  11. Graphic Novel Edition Volume 2 2022

Pick up your copy of the latest book in the series today!