Skip to content
Happy 20th Birthday, Discover Books! Save 20% when you buy 4+books from the 20th Birthday Special Collection until 9.30.23.
Happy 20th Birthday, Discover Books! Save 20% when you buy 4+books from the 20th Birthday Special Collection. until 9.30.23.

Harry Potter Book Series by JK Rowling in Order

Immerse yourself in a world of magic and mystery with the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. This seven-part saga takes you on an extraordinary journey alongside its titular character, Harry Potter, a young wizard destined for greatness.

Each book in the series unfolds a year in Harry's life at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, where he forms enduring friendships, confronts dark forces, and learns about his own unique destiny. The narrative is artfully woven with exciting plot twists, relatable characters, and a richly imagined magical world that keeps you riveted from the first page to the last.

J.K. Rowling’s masterful storytelling transcends the boundaries of age, making these books a compelling read for both young readers and adults alike. The series explores profound themes such as the power of love and friendship, the timeless battle of good vs evil, and the complexities of coming of age. Rowling's portrayal of complex emotions and relationships adds depth to the narrative, making it resonate with readers on multiple levels.

Beyond the realm of books, the Harry Potter series has successfully transitioned into blockbuster movies, stage plays, and theme park attractions, further cementing its cultural impact and popularity.

For newcomers to this magical universe, start at the very beginning with "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone." This is where Harry's extraordinary journey begins, setting the stage for the epic saga that follows. Each book builds upon the last, so reading them in order will allow you to appreciate the depth and progression of the story fully.

Prepare to be spellbound by the enchanting world of Harry Potter. This series promises an unforgettable reading experience filled with magic, adventure, and the enduring power of friendship and love.

The first three books can be read by good readers ages 6+. The rest of the series is longer and a little more complex - ages 10+ on average.

Recommended reading order of the Harry Potter Series:

  1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Book
  2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets Book
  3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban Book
  4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix Book
  6. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
  7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows