Skip to content
Sign up for our newsletter to receive special discounts!
Sign up for our newsletter to receive special discounts!

The Very Nice Box: A Novel

No reviews

"A quirky, deeply satisfying, whip-smart debut that critiques corporate culture and male entitlement while also offering a heartfelt look at how to work through grief. Meticulously constructed and truly original--I inhaled it."
--Jami Attenberg, author of All This Could Be Yours

For fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and Severance: an offbeat, wryly funny debut novel that follows an eccentric product engineer who works for a hip furniture company, where sweeping corporate change lands her under the purview of a startlingly charismatic boss who seems determined to get close to her at all costs . . .

Ava Simon designs storage boxes for STDA, a slick Brooklyn-based furniture company. Shes hardworking and obsessive, and heartbroken from a tragedy that killed her girlfriend and upended her life. Its been years since shes let anyone in.

But when Avas new boss--the young and magnetic Mat Putnam--offers Ava a ride home one afternoon, an unlikely relationship blossoms. Ava remembers how rewarding it can be to open up--and, despite her instincts, becomes enamored. But Mat isnt who he claims to be, and the romance takes a sharp turn.

The Very Nice Box is a funny, suspenseful debut--with a shocking twist. Its at once a send-up of male entitlement and a bighearted account of grief, friendship, and trust.
Product Details

Author: Eve Gleichman, Laura Blackett

Language: English

Edition:

Binding: Paperback

Publisher: Harper Perennial

Release Date: 2022-06-14

Pages: 368

ISBN: 0358697506

ISBN13: 9780358697503